ARRL-Roanoke Home


Roanoke Division Banner

ARRL Roanoke Division Director W2RU

Dr. James F. Boehner, N2ZZ
Roanoke Division Director
525 Barnwell Avenue, NW
Aiken SC 29801-3939
803 641-9140

(Credit photo: WW1ME)


Dr. James F. “Jim” Boehner (rhymes with “owner”), N2ZZ, became the Director of the ARRL Roanoke Division in January of 2015 to fill out the term of Roanoke Division Director Dennis Bodson, W4PWF (SK), who stepped down from office. He served as Director from 2015 to 2018, and after a brief 3-year hiatus, returned as Director in 2022. Jim had been Vice Director of the Roanoke Division since January of 2010, and before that, held the office of Section Manager for South Carolina for seven years, where he worked to expand field participation and emergency preparedness.

Jim’s accomplishments in Amateur Radio are many: First licensed in 1969, he is a Life Member of both the ARRL and QCWA (Palmetto State Chapter #89). He has earned a place on the DXCC Honor Roll and has obtained 9BWAS, 8BDXCC, and ARRL “A-1 Operator” status. Jim has experienced many facets of ham radio including CW NTS, DX, Echolink, D-STAR, APRS, DMR and vintage radio restoration. He holds an Amateur Extra ticket.

Originally from Syracuse, New York, Jim has lived in Aiken, South Carolina, since 1986 and is a physician in private practice there. He has served as a Board Member of the non-profit Aiken Kidney Benefit for several years and as Chairman of the Aiken Regional Medical Center’s Board of Governors. Little known facts: Jim’s an avid, accomplished player of both tennis and the trumpet.

More information about N2ZZ can be found HERE.

ARRL Roanoke Division Director N2COP

William C. Morine, N2COP
Roanoke Division Vice Director
101 Windlass Drive
Wilmington NC 28409-2030
910 452-1770

(Credit photo: WW1ME)


William C. “Bill” Morine, N2COP, became the Vice Director of the ARRL Roanoke Division in January of 2015 by appointment of ARRL President Kay Craigie, N3KN, to fill out the term of Roanoke Division Vice Director Jim Boehner, N2ZZ, who succeeded Dennis Bodson, W4PWF (SK), as Division Director. He won election to the position and began a full term of office on January 1st of 2019. He was re-elected to a new term starting January 1st of 2022.

Bill had been ARRL North Carolina Section Manager since 2010 and was ARRL North Carolina Section Public Information Coordinator for many years, having been the 2001 recipient of the ARRL’s Philip J. McGan award for public relations. He served as Chairman of the ARRL Public Relations Committee and is still very active in sharing the ham radio message to the wider audience.

First licensed in 1970, he is a Life Member of the ARRL, QCWA and OOTC. Bill holds an Amateur Extra ticket. He holds certificates for DXCC, VUCC, Triple Play, WAS, WAC, and has served twice on the staff of K2BSA, the Boy Scout National Jamboree station. He has helped over two thousand scouts learn the Radio Merit Badge and over two hundred of them become licensed.

Originally from Massachusetts, Bill resides in Wilmington, North Carolina and is Vice President of Morine Financial Services, Inc. His two sons are also licensed: Grant, W4GHM, and Reid, W4RSM. Little known facts: Bill has crossed North America at least five times by train (please answer if you ever hear him sign “railroad mobile”), and he takes great pride in his ability to correctly answer questions on “Final Jeopardy.”

More information about N2COP can be found HERE.


Don Daso, K4ZA
Contest Advisory Committee
515 Withershinn Drive
Charlotte, NC 28262-0477

Robert “Gary” Dixon, K4MQG
DX Advisory Committee
1606 Crescent Ridge
Fort Mill, SC 29715-9138

Brad Humphries, AE4VJ
Media and Social Media
440 Vermillion Drive
York, SC 29745-7499

Raymond "Woody" Woodward, K3VSA
Webmaster Emeritus
4008 New Sharon Church Road
Hillsborough, NC 27278-8042

John C. Kanode, N4MM
ARRL Honorary Vice President
1741 Old Chapel Road
Boyce, VA 22620-9718

Charles R. Littlewood, K4HF
8311 Hempshire Place #103
Raleigh, NC 27613-1323

John "David" McGough, K4FXC
PO Box 7091
Wilmington, NC 28406-7091

David R. Jones Jr, N4JED
5207 Burnt Quarter Drive
Vinton, VA 24179-1103

Hal Turley, W8HC
2309 Lincoln Avenue
Saint Albans, WV 25177-3239

Dan Henderson, N1ND
18 Ravencroft Lane
Asheville, NC 28803-2131

Donald F. Lynch Jr, W4ZYT
1517 W Little Neck Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23452-4717

Matt Reeps, NC1F
706 MacMillan Ave N Apt 1A
Wilmington, NC 28403-6469

Al Crawford, WA4TCJ
1304 Phelps West Road
Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526-9621


Like us on Facebook        Follow us on Twitter 

This page is optimized for 1024x768 resolution
Updated by the ARRL-Roanoke webmaster on October 8th 2023

Webhosting by   INTTEK logo   in Wilmington NC

Copyright © 2016 - 2023 ARRL-Roanoke Division